top of page

Moving on


It's nearly the end of term. Tomorrow the children break up from school and the holidays begin. My classes finished this week with one last (until next term) Over 50's dance class. what a complete inspiration it has been. Myself and around 16 (slightly) older women have been rocking our way through "Stuck in the Middle with You" and a great Fiona Apple track. I'm always overwhelmed and overjoyed to see how bodies that have had life imprinted upon them, their experiences oozing out, as they move and reconfigure the space around them. It's beautiful.

Before I can truly rest for a few days I have one last day of rehearsing with Tanner Efinger on his one man show "High as Sugar'. It's a tale inspired by the Warhol Superstar "Holly Woodlawn". It's fascinating working with an actor in such an intense situation, and of course we don't really have enough time to go into the tiny details that movement requires of each person, but I am flavouring the pot, dropping images and ideas in when I can work out what might help Tanner. I'm reunited with both Matt Winkworth (composer) and Director Lizzie McBain for this show, so amidst my own explorations there is a knowing familiarity.

Sugar premiers in Brighton as the festival next week. I can't wait to see her take Brighton by storm.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page